Six Years

I woke up this morning really tired. I didn’t stay up particularly late last night and I slept well, but I was tired anyway. Jeff offered to let me sleep in a bit while he got the girls breakfast, but he had picked up some croissants yesterday and that sounded good enough to get me to roll out of bed. We had a nice breakfast, he left for work, I cleaned the apartment while the girls played happily…all in all, a pretty normal start to the day. 

Then, around lunchtime, Jeff called from his office. “Guess what I just learned on Facebook?” he said. I figured someone had had a baby or was pregnant or getting married, etc. “Facebook says today is our anniversary.” Ha. It is indeed our anniversary. BOTH of us had entirely forgotten (which makes it okay). 

I laughed, but said, “Ugh, that’s so sad!” Adele yelled in from the other room, “Mommy, if something is sad, why are you laughing?” It is sad. It’s sad that it’s only taken us six years to become “that” couple. I don’t really know what I’m referring to when I say “that” couple, and actually I’m not really sad at all. THANK GOODNESS both of us forgot, because it would have caused a big ole fight if I had remembered and he had not (if it had been the other way around, Jeff probably would have shrugged it off). 

I looked up sixth anniversary traditions and the gifts are candy and iron. I couldn’t possibly skip the candy anniversary for Jeff, so the girls and I went to the campus convenience store and bought one of every candy bar they had. SO ROMANTIC. Also, Jeff knew I would do just that. 

I thought, hey, maybe I should arrange a last minute babysitter so that we can go out to one of the fancy restaurants at the St. Regis, but honestly, all I wanna do is cuddle up with Jeff and continue watching episodes of Friday Night Lights on Netflix. 

Six years ago, also on a Sunday, we stood under the chuppah and vowed to love each other forever…and while six years sounds like such a short amount of time to me, we’ve made some major life changes in that time, and have had our fair share of challenges, and I am still just so in love with this man. I am lucky to share this life, this absurd, peripatetic life with him. He rubs my feet whenever I ask him to. He once picked every nut fragment out of a jar of chunky peanut butter to make me a pb&j, because he knew I preferred creamy peanut butter. He’s so insanely smart, but without (most of) those mean/annoying personality traits that geniuses tend to have. And because he went to Lewis & Clark College, I can always feel superior to him, regardless of how many graduate degrees he racks up. And he’s a great father who is involved in every single aspect of parenting. He got up in the middle of the night with the kids far more than I did. Oh yeah, he’s also a superhuman robot alien who survives with no sleep. He just requires candy. 

So, happy candy anniversary to you, Jeff! I love you and I’ll love you forever. You can take me to the St. Regis next weekend. 

6 thoughts on “Six Years

  1. Happy Anniversary!!! You guys set a great example of marriage to all who know you and haven’ taken the plunge yet. Joey and I celebrated yesterday by throwing a big party and drinking the night away. Okay, it wasn’t exactly a party celebrating your marriage. BUT I did think of your anniversary that day! Cheers to you and Jeff! And thank you for getting married and having the two loves of my life!!! Kisses!!

      • Oh my gosh, everything went perfectly!!!! Saturday I took the day off of work to secretly decorate the room at the restaurant. Courtney picked me up and we went and got the decorations and proceeded to the Mexican restaurant to decorate and drop off the pineapple upside down cake I made for Joey. Then she dropped me off back at the ferry terminal so Joey would think he was picking me up after work like usual. He picked me up and he asked me what I wanted to do. I said I wanted guacamole and he suggested Puerto Vallarta (they make the BEST guac and we always go there for it). So when he said that I was thinking, crap does he know because this seems too easy. But then he called his Dad (who was already at the restaurant) to ask what they were up to and if they wanted to get together after we ate din. So then I breathed a sigh of relief because the way he was talking to his Dad basically showed he had no clue. We got to the restaurant (I told everyone to park elsewhere so he wouldn’t recognize cars) and sat in the bar. I said I had to go to the bathroom and went to the party room to tell everyone to get ready to yell SURPRISE!!! A little to my surprise the room was packed with people! I had about 18 for sure attendees and like 8 maybes. Well, the maybes showed up! It was amazing!!! I went back to get Joey and made up the story that the restaurant was giving out free margaritas in the party room. Yes, that was the best I could think of, haha. Well Joey wasn’t having it… At all. He kept on saying, no no, why would they be giving out free drinks. I’ll just pay for one if you want a margarita. It’s probably someone’s party and I don’t want to intrude. I had to get my whiniest voice and physically pull him out of the booth to come with me. Dammit we’re getting those margaritas whether you like it or not!! So we walk into the room, everyone yelled SURPRISE and Joey just stood there with the most confused, shocked and terrified look on his face ever! It was hilarious. It took him a good 5 minutes to understand what was going on. But after he did, he had the time of his life. His family and friends all in one room blew him away, it was so cute. We all ate dinner, had more drinks, sang happy birthday with cake and then left around 10:30 to go to my friend Casey’s house. It was so awesome that he was truly surprised. I wish you had been there to see it! I love party planning!!!!

Leave a Reply

