I hurt my heel

Jeff was sick yesterday. He spent all day in bed resting up, which was beneficial, because he felt better today. However, I had the girls allllllll day without any break (Adele is on vacation from school this week and she no longer naps). It wasn’t actually that bad, because, when need be, I can turn on my Super Mom powers and have good, high energy all day and keep them content with activities and even get stuff done around the house, which does NOT happen on a normal day. The more I have to do, the better I am at doing it, whereas if I have nothing really important to do, I’m a lazy slob. I guess that’s a good thing? Except that nine times out of ten, I don’t have anything to do, so I live perpetually in slob mode (the opposite of Beast Mode).

Anyway, I was Super Mom yesterday. That was until…I hurt my foot. I don’t even know what happened. I walked into the bathroom and when I walked out, my heel hurt. I didn’t twist my ankle and I didn’t pull a muscle. The pain can only be described at what it feels like to step on a nail, but I didn’t step on anything. I was just about to take the girls on a walk when it happened and it hurt so much, I had to tell them that we couldn’t go! (May was disappointed, so Adele told her to get into the stroller and then pushed her all around the apartment, because she is the best big sister ever.) Unfortunately, because Jeff was sick, I couldn’t ask him to watch the girls while I rested. So I had to rest and entertain them at the same time. That only worked for so long. They were pretty good and understanding, but dinner did eventually have to be made, so I had to get up and move around some. And the pain got worse and worse.

I was happy to crawl into bed at the end of the day, hoping that the pain would be gone by the morning, but it actually woke me up in the middle of the night, throbbing badly. At this point, I was really freaked out. Nothing had happened! I didn’t know what I had done. I tried to examine my foot in the dark by the light of my cell phone, because I didn’t want to wake Jeff, but it looked normal…but it did not feel normal.

I did some midnight googling and decided that what I had was bursitis. Ironically, this is a common condition for athletes. Haha, ME getting a sport injury. What are the odds?! It also can be caused by wearing flat shoes, which I am guilty of. And now I have proof that high heels are better for my feet. Who’da thunk that either? Pre-kids me feels vindicated. (Post-kids me is screwed.) Really, I blame the floors here in my apartment. They are hard, hard stone. Poor May is probably quite a bit dumber than she should be, due to the many times she has fallen and hit her head on the floor. Now I have a dumb kid and a bum heel.

I took a painkiller and fell back asleep and I’ve been walking on my right foot’s toes all day, which looks super duper sexy and is now causing my arch to hurt. But the pain in my heel is a lot better, so I think things will go back to normal tomorrow.

Also, May is not dumb. I kid.

2 thoughts on “I hurt my heel

  1. Ouch!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hope your foot feels better soon. Can you buy cushion inserts for your shoes there? It might help with the hard, hard floors.

  2. I get something like this if I’ve been relying on ballet flats for too many days in a row. You need to mix it up (NOT with heels but) with shoes with good support like sneakers or clogs or something! Hope it feels better soon – mine usually last 1-3 days.

Leave a Reply

