Yawn, Stretch

Good morning! This blog has been asleep for quite a while, but it’s time to wake it up. I have a new computer, I figured out my log-in information, I still don’t really know how to use the photo software on my computer, but I have stuff to talk about!

I’m going to sum up the last five months very briefly:

In December, right before we went to Germany, we learned that we might not be returning to Abu Dhabi for the next academic year. We knew our time here would be short, but not that short, and – much to my surprise – I really like it here, so I wasn’t ready to leave. Even worse for me, a person who mapped out her 10-year plan years ago and has actually stuck to it, was that we just didn’t know what was going to happen, so we couldn’t plan anything for even a few months down the road. It was surprisingly hard to function with that sort of stress weighing on the brain, so I kinda let every extraneous thing go, including this blog, party planning, play dates, communicating with the outside world (I’ve been seriously bad about this and I am genuinely sorry), eating vegetables, bathing, etc.

Funny thing is, it’s May now and we STILL don’t really know what’s happening. But we’re mostly sure that we’re staying here for at least one more year and I just have to get back to living (and eating vegetables and bathing).

Let’s see if I can keep my word and make blogging a regular thing again. If you’re reading this, let me know that I still have an audience!

5 thoughts on “Yawn, Stretch

  1. You’re in my inbox when I wake in the morning and I read to keep me from going back to sleep. Keep them coming!

  2. Glad to see your blog is back. Contrats on thé new computer. Is it a Mac? I’m a huge Apple fan since getting my ipad and iphone this past year. Of course, I’m glad that you are feeling more sure about where you will be next year and that you like Abu Dhabi. You have made an amazing adjustment that you should be very proud of. We are all excited to see you in June. In the meantime, eat your vegetables! Love, Lynn

Leave a Reply

